Decorating with Door Hinges

Lately; I’ve been obsessed with finding beautiful door hinges.  They add a perfect detail that we normally miss; love how a hinge that is meant to be functional can make the plainest of doors become beautiful.  Although we are beyond the Victorian Style early 1800s -1900s where everything was lavish and floral patterns in relief were prominent or the elaborate motifs of the Art Deco style; the history and architecture always romance the seeing eye.

Here are few hinges I’ve come across in my search for these forgotten beauties.

Image

The one below reminds me of my grandmother’s back screen door I always ran in and out of as a child on hot summer days – you know the one’s that had the spring that you would try to beat before it slammed shut on you. Image

Think this one is so pretty has very clean and delicate lines that could go modern or traditional.

Image

I hope this gives you a little inspiration to look for the hidden beauty in every day functionality.

Leave a comment